Taddoovs Square Appointments
Square Appointments is strong when the studio already takes payments with Square. Taddoo is built for tattooing and keeps every artist independent with their own account.
Honest comparison, as of 2026-10-24
Square Appointments belongs to payment provider Square and connects booking with point of sale and card terminals. It is billed per location with unlimited staff, has a free plan and no booking commission. The studio runs one shared account. Taddoo is built for the individual artist and works on its own without a studio account; when artists want to connect as a studio, Taddoo Studio links their own accounts.
Features side by side
| Feature | Taddoo | Square Appointments |
|---|---|---|
| Studio and team management: day board with stations, shared calendar, requests forwarded to the right artist, every consent form signed in the studio in one place; every artist keeps their own appSquare: one studio account with roles, priced per location. Taddoo Studio: 30 CHF per month billed yearly, every artist with their own account and data. | Yes | Yes |
| Built specifically for tattoo artistsSquare is generic, with a tattoo landing page. | Yes | No |
| Calendar and appointment management | Yes | Yes |
| Booking link: customers book themselves | Yes | Yes |
| Online deposits (Stripe) | Yes | Yes |
| Automated communication: reminders and aftercare, at Taddoo by email, with App Pro also by text (coming soon) | Yes | Yes |
| Digital consent form with QR codeSquare: contracts are sent automatically, custom fields only on Premium. | Yes | Partial |
| Request form with body part, size, reference images and preferred daySquare: reference image upload not stated. | Yes | No |
| Flash page: designs with size, price and duration, bookable directly | Yes | No |
| Link in bio: your own page with booking, flash, availability and waitlistSquare: booking site and Book Now button for Instagram, Facebook and Google. | Yes | Partial |
| Waitlists per location and custom lists before the guest spotSquare: waitlist from the Plus plan. | Yes | Partial |
| Multiple locations and guest spots with own schedule, address and currencySquare: multiple locations from Plus; guest artist schedules not stated. | Yes | Partial |
| Google and Apple Calendar via feedSquare: Google Calendar from Plus; Apple not stated. | Yes | Partial |
| Tap to Pay: card payments on iPhone or Android without a terminal | Yes | Yes |
| Receipts and expenses via photo scanSquare Appointments: expense receipt scanning not stated. | Yes | No |
| No revenue commission, no marketplace fee | Yes | Yes |
| Data hosted in the EUSquare: data location not stated on the product page. | Yes | Partial |
| AI assistant: Claude and ChatGPT manage appointments, clients and link in bio (MCP)Square: MCP server (beta) for Claude; coverage of appointments not stated (as of October 2026). | Yes | Partial |
Pricing
14 CHFper month, billed yearly
No revenue commission, and with App Pro also 0% Taddoo fees when you take payments, Stripe only: App Pro 25 CHF per month billed yearly, App 14 CHF per month billed yearly (or 16 CHF monthly) with a small fee only on payments through Taddoo; first 7 days free, up to 28% cheaper when paying yearly, no marketplace fee. For studios with several artists: Taddoo Studio 30 CHF per month billed yearly, unlimited linked artists, each artist pays for and keeps their own app.
USA: Free 0 USD, Plus 49 USD and Premium 149 USD per month per location. UK: Free 0 GBP, Plus 29 GBP and Premium 69 GBP per location. Unlimited staff, no booking commission, card fees in the USA from 2.4% plus 15 cents in person, in the UK from 1.6%.
What fits when
When Square Appointments fits
Studios already using Square point of sale and card terminals that want a free or per-location plan with unlimited staff.
Where Taddoo leads
Taddoo is built for the tattoo workflow: flash page with sizes and prices, request form with body part and reference images, waitlists per location and guest spot, digital consent with a studio template, receipt scanning with bookkeeping and data in the EU. And every artist keeps their own account (from 14 CHF), which also handles their complete self-employed bookkeeping: the studio sees calendar and revenue only as far as the artist shares them, and settles the deal per artist.
On top of that, Taddoo is always artist first. The account belongs to the artist, not the studio. The artist joins a studio's Taddoo Studio account with their app, decides what the studio sees and takes clients, appointments, consent forms and numbers along when moving on. With Taddoo Studio, studios still get their own studio and team management.
Frequently asked questions
Is Square Appointments worth it for a tattoo studio?
If the studio already takes payments with Square, Square Appointments is a natural add-on with fair per-location pricing. For the tattoo workflow it lacks a flash page, a request form with reference images and per-artist statements. Taddoo covers these and keeps every artist independent with their own account.
Can I use Taddoo if I have Square terminals?
Taddoo takes payments via Stripe: online deposits, payment links and Tap to Pay right on iPhone or Android, without a terminal. You can keep using existing Square terminals for in-person payments and use Taddoo for requests, appointments, consent and receipts.
As of 2026-10-24. Details on Square Appointments based on publicly available sources; pricing and features may change. Provider site.
More comparisons
Less admin. More tattooing.
Link in bio, booking link, deposits, digital consent and bookkeeping in one place. 7 days free, cancel anytime.








